PVRIS, STL GLD score at Boston Music Awards

Repeat victories, familiar faces mark 2017 ceremony at House of Blues


Alt-electro rockers PVRIS took top honors at the Boston Music Awards, winning Artist of the Year and Song of the Year (“Heaven”) for a second year, in addition to a third trophy for Pop Artist of the Year. But for people attending Thursday’s ceremony at House of Blues, the night’s big winner was conscious hip-hop outfit STL GLD, which stole the show in a headlining slot and took prizes for Album of the Year and Video for Unsigned Artist, while group member Janos Fulop (the Arcitype) won for Studio Producer of the Year. With multiple rappers led by Christopher Talken and Moe Pope (pictured), STL GLD ignited heartfelt, topical hip-hop with live guitar and keyboards by Fulop, drums (by Session Musician winner Jonathan Ulman), trumpet and marching snare. Other strong performances on Thursday came from rockers Weakened Friends (Unsigned Artist of the Year) and Carissa Johnson (New Artist of the Year), rapper Answer and the band Bad Rabbits, which won for R&B Artist while frontman Freduo Boukye also took the Male Vocalist award). Julie Rhodes won for both Female Vocalist and Americana artist (in addition to her cameo in STL GLD’s video), while rapper Cousin Stizz scored trophies for Hip-Hop and Live Artist of the Year.

Full list of winners:

Artist of the Year: PVRIS

New Artist of the Year: Carissa Johnson

Unsigned Artist of the Year: Weakened Friends

Album of the Year: Torch Song, STL GLD

Song of the Year: “Heaven,” PVRIS

Music Video of the Year: “Just Like You,” Joyner Lucas

Music Video of the Year (Unsigned Artist): “Feels Like Home,” STL GLD featuring Dutch ReBelle, Tigerman WOAH and Julie Rhodes

Live Artist of the Year: Cousin Stizz

Alternative/Indie Artist of the Year: Palehound

Americana Artist of the Year: Julie Rhodes

Blues Artist of the Year: the Silks

Country Artist of the Year: Ashley Jordan

DJ of the Year: SuperSmashBroz

Electronic Artist of the Year: Bearstronaut

Folk Artist of the Year: the Ballroom Thieves

Hip Hop Artist of the Year: Cousin Stizz

International Artist of the Year: Dub Apocalypse

Jazz Artist of the Year: Esperanza Spalding

Metal Artist of the Year: Converge

Pop Artist of the Year: PVRIS

Punk/Hardcore Artist of the Year: Nice Guys

R&B Artist of the Year: Bad Rabbits

Rock Artist of the Year: Animal Flag

Singer Songwriter of the Year: Ruby Rose Fox

Female Vocalist of the Year: Julie Rhodes

Male Vocalist of the Year: Fredua Boakye (Bad Rabbits)

Session Musician of the Year: Jonathan Ulman

Live Production Engineer of the Year: Brendon Downey

Studio Producer of the Year: Janos Fulop (the Arcitype)

Eddy Leiva Music Photographer of the Year: Natasha Moustache

Music Promoter of the Year: Jason Trefts, Illegally Blind

Live Music Venue of the Year: The Sinclair

Intimate Live Music Venue of the Year: Lizard Lounge

Music Night of the Year: Emo Night at the Sinclair

Live Ongoing Residency of the Year: Downbeat Mondays at the Sinclair with Matthew Stubbs and the Antiguas

Music Blog of the Year: Vanyaland

617 Session Winner: No Hope / No Harm

Related Articles

Comments are closed.