Hip-hop rules at 2018 Boston Music Awards

Cousin Stizz becomes first rapper to win top honor as Artist of the Year.


Hip-hop broke a glass ceiling at the 2018 Boston Music Awards, where Cousin Stizz (pictured from May’s Boston Calling) won for Artist of the Year — the first time an artist in that genre took the top prize — as well as hip-hop artist. Fellow rappers triumphed as Cliff Notez topped the new artist category, Oompa snagged the trophy for unsigned artist, Latrell James won for his song “Okay,” and the Grammy-nominated Joyner Lucas scored a prize for his “I’m Not Racist” music video.

Other big winners announced at Wednesday’s BMAs ceremony at House of Blues included indie-pop upstart Sidney Gish for her album No Dogs Allowed, Aubrey Haddard for an upset in both the singer-songwriter and vocalist categories (over such heavyweights as Ruby Rose Fox and Will Dailey), and a third consecutive session musician award for drummer Jonathan Ulman.

Here are all the winners:

Artist of the Year: Cousin Stizz

New Artist of the Year: Cliff Notez

Unsigned Artist of the Year: Oompa

Album of the Year: Sidney Gish – No Dogs Allowed

Song of the Year: Latrell James – “Okay”

Music Video of the Year: Joyner Lucas – “I’m Not Racist”

Live Artist of the Year: STL GLD

Alternative/Indie Artist of the Year: Weakened Friends

Americana Artist of the Year: Twisted Pine

Blues Artist of the Year: Ali McGuirk

Country Artist of the Year: Ashley Jordan

DJ of the Year: SuperSmashBroz

Electronic Artist of the Year: Party Bois

Folk Artist of the Year: Honeysuckle

Hip Hop Artist of the Year: Cousin Stizz

International Artist of the Year: Soul Rebel Project

Jazz Artist of the Year: Gretchen & The Pickpockets

Metal Artist of the Year: Scissorfight

Pop Artist of the Year: Clairo

Punk/Hardcore Artist of the Year: Street Dogs

R&B Artist of the Year: Bad Rabbits

Rock Artist of the Year: The Devil’s Twins

Singer-Songwriter of the Year: Aubrey Haddard

Vocalist of the Year: Aubrey Haddard

Session Musician of the Year: Jonathan Ulman

Live Production Engineer of the Year: Grace Reader

Studio Producer of the Year: Janos Fulop (The Arcitype)

Music Promoter of the Year: Christine Varriale – Allston Pudding

Live Music Venue of the Year: House of Blues

Intimate Live Music Venue of the Year: Great Scott

Music Night of the Year: Emo Night at The Sinclair

Live Ongoing Residency of the Year: Ali McGuirk First Fridays at Bull McCabe’s

Live Music Photographer of the Year: Emily Gardner

Music Journalist of the Year: Nina Corcoran

Music Publication of the Year: Vanyaland

617Session Winner: Oompa

Related Articles

Comments are closed.